Before the painting

Because I’m doing a Grisaille piece which is painted with ink, I need to know exactly where my dark and light areas will be.  With ink, I can’t go back and paint over areas to make them lighter, I can only make things darker.

So, I’ve gone back to my layout and penciled in shaded areas so I have something to follow as I start painting.

Still having trouble uploading photos (and probably will until I get a new computer):  Here’s a link at the shaded pencil version.  Note that I started shading the lion, but I can’t do that on the actual scroll other than a little bit for definition as the lion on the device needs to be argent.

https://www.facebook.com/Aliskye#!/photo.php?fbid=10152092451085349&set=a.80996840348.77509.673035348&type=1&theater

Leave a Reply

