Getting ready to paint

image

After painting the gold in the inhabited letter and the first letters of Alexander’s name, I started painting the rest of the scroll.  First I took a piece of tracing paper and covered up the calligraphy.  I didn’t want any splashes of ink (or anything) getting on the calligraphy while I worked.

I took some of my iron gall ink (Old World Ink from John Neal Booksellers which I love!) and diluted it with water.  I wanted something very thin.  I then outlined everything on the page with a crowquill pen.  I’m not sure I remember exactly, but I think that was about an hours worth of work.  More or less.

You can see on the lion’s mane where the ink blobbed a little bit. I found that I had to be careful how much ink was on the crowquill.  I usually tested it on a piece scratch paper before putting anything on the scroll.  I also found that I had to be carefull not to let the crowquill sit in one place on the scroll for too long as that caused blobs as well.

One thought on “Getting ready to paint

  1. alizkye says:

    Darn. That’s actually the wrong picture.

Leave a Reply

